Mysterium

Mysterium

Product #ASMMYST01

Regular Price: $49.99

Special Price: $42.49

17 In stock

Manufacturer: Asmodee


Will you dare to cross the threshold of the haunted Mysterium Manor?


In this asymmetric cooperative game, one player adopts the role of the ghost and others play as psychics. All players share the same goal of shedding light on the strange circumstances surrounding the ghost's death and laying his spirit to rest at last. Unable to speak, the ghost attempts to communicate by sending visions to the gathered psychics, who will be able to reconstruct the events of the fateful evening by correctly interpreting these thereal messages. Cooperation and inspired guesswork will facilitate their task of unmasking the culprit.


But time is short! The team has only seven hours in which to contact the ghost and solve this enduring mystery ...


Step inside, be seated, and let your intuition guide you!


Contents:
6 Intuition Tokens
6 Sleeves
6 Clairvoyance Level Markers
36 Clairvoyance Tokens
1 Clock Board
4 Progress Boards
18 Character Psychic Cards
18 Location Psychic Cards
18 Object Psychic Cards
1 Game Screen
1 Sand Timer
18 Character Ghost Cards
18 Location Ghost Cards
18 Object Ghost Cards
6 Ghost Tokens
84 Vision Cards
6 Culprit Tokens
3 Crow Markers
1 Clairvoyance Track
Rulebook


Ages: 10+
Players: 2-7
Game Length: 30-45 minutes


NOTE: Manufactured by Libellud; Distributed by Asmodee North America.


Share your thoughts with other customers

Add a Review

Reviews

Ghost Clue - Who ya gonna call?
Mysterium is a game which has quickly become one of my groups most played games. I played the original version about a year ago and had a lot of fun, even though I couldn't read any of the rules since it wasn't in English. This version has the same art on the Dream cards as the original, but the new person, place, and weapon cards are all new. They tend to be a bit darker, which I think works well. The biggest improvement in this version is the Ghost's "Screen". In the original version, you had to maintain different stacks of cards for each player, a stack of cards for the other items in play, and prevent the players from seeing them. In this version, you have a very hefty screen with pockets for each player to organize your side of the game. This makes keeping track of everything a lot easier and lets the game run much smoother.

Another change is the betting system, which wasn't present in the original. After everyone figures out what clue they want to guess, you have the ability to bet on if you think they are correct or incorrect. Each correct guess takes you further on a track determining how many clues you get to see at the end-game. This mechanic, to be honest, feels a little tacked on, but for the most part works. The problem comes in when you are fairly certain everyone is right, but all you have are incorrect guess tokens. You end up just guessing players are wrong for the off-chance they actually are, regardless of what you believe because you get the tokens back at the end of turn 3.

I would highly recommend this to any group of gamers who enjoys cooperative games with a bit of abstraction. Trying to guess the clues is a lot of fun but I find my love of the game comes from behind the ghost screen. I love watching people try to sort out my clues as a team and love seeing how one player will completely change the mind of the group causing the player to make an incorrect guess due to some minute part of the clue I didn't even consider! The game is amazing and this version is extremely well put together.
Game Play
Quality
Price
Value
Review by Ryan on 7/2/2016
Ghost Clue - Who ya gonna call?
Mysterium is a game which has quickly become one of my groups most played games. I played the original version about a year ago and had a lot of fun, even though I couldn't read any of the rules since it wasn't in English. This version has the same art on the Dream cards as the original, but the new person, place, and weapon cards are all new. They tend to be a bit darker, which I think works well. The biggest improvement in this version is the Ghost's "Screen". In the original version, you had to maintain different stacks of cards for each player, a stack of cards for the other items in play, and prevent the players from seeing them. In this version, you have a very hefty screen with pockets for each player to organize your side of the game. This makes keeping track of everything a lot easier and lets the game run much smoother.

Another change is the betting system, which wasn't present in the original. After everyone figures out what clue they want to guess, you have the ability to bet on if you think they are correct or incorrect. Each correct guess takes you further on a track determining how many clues you get to see at the end-game. This mechanic, to be honest, feels a little tacked on, but for the most part works. The problem comes in when you are fairly certain everyone is right, but all you have are incorrect guess tokens. You end up just guessing players are wrong for the off-chance they actually are, regardless of what you believe because you get the tokens back at the end of turn 3.

I would highly recommend this to any group of gamers who enjoys cooperative games with a bit of abstraction. Trying to guess the clues is a lot of fun but I find my love of the game comes from behind the ghost screen. I love watching people try to sort out my clues as a team and love seeing how one player will completely change the mind of the group causing the player to make an incorrect guess due to some minute part of the clue I didn't even consider! The game is amazing and this version is extremely well put together.
Game Play
Quality
Price
Value
Review by Arcie on 7/2/2016
Ghost Clue - Who ya gonna call?
Mysterium is a game which has quickly become one of my groups most played games. I played the original version about a year ago and had a lot of fun, even though I couldn't read any of the rules since it wasn't in English. This version has the same art on the Dream cards as the original, but the new person, place, and weapon cards are all new. They tend to be a bit darker, which I think works well. The biggest improvement in this version is the Ghost's "Screen". In the original version, you had to maintain different stacks of cards for each player, a stack of cards for the other items in play, and prevent the players from seeing them. In this version, you have a very hefty screen with pockets for each player to organize your side of the game. This makes keeping track of everything a lot easier and lets the game run much smoother.

Another change is the betting system, which wasn't present in the original. After everyone figures out what clue they want to guess, you have the ability to bet on if you think they are correct or incorrect. Each correct guess takes you further on a track determining how many clues you get to see at the end-game. This mechanic, to be honest, feels a little tacked on, but for the most part works. The problem comes in when you are fairly certain everyone is right, but all you have are incorrect guess tokens. You end up just guessing players are wrong for the off-chance they actually are, regardless of what you believe because you get the tokens back at the end of turn 3.

I would highly recommend this to any group of gamers who enjoys cooperative games with a bit of abstraction. Trying to guess the clues is a lot of fun but I find my love of the game comes from behind the ghost screen. I love watching people try to sort out my clues as a team and love seeing how one player will completely change the mind of the group causing the player to make an incorrect guess due to some minute part of the clue I didn't even consider! The game is amazing and this version is extremely well put together.
Game Play
Quality
Price
Value
Review by Arcie on 7/2/2016
Clue and Dixit had a baby called Mysterium
Mysterium is a co-op game that takes place in a haunted mansion where a group of psychics are contacting a ghost, trying to solve a murder. One person plays the ghost who hands out cards featuring incredible art, those cards are used to steer the psychics towards clues about the murder.


The basic gameplay itself is really easy to learn, it's where Asmodee decided to add a bunch of elements for the American release that things get confusing. The bidding system and subsequent intuition track are just pointless, as is the sand timer used to limit the guessing time for the psychics. The giant round tracker the has four pieces to it and has to be built each time is also just more junk added to up the price.


Other than those issues, it's a great game that you'll be playing long after you've decided to stop using the bidding mechanic. Highly recommended.
Game Play
Quality
Price
Value
Review by Tony on 11/23/2015
A wonderful, unique experience. One of my favorites of 2015.
I had my first experience with Mysterium at Geekway to the West 2015 with the polish version. I was absolutely floored by it. It was definitely my favorite game that I played at the convention and the only one that I played multiple times. The new, English version has only enhanced the game with added components and extra mechanisms, while still keeping the core gameplay that I fell in love with.
The actual gameplay has one player acting as the "ghost" and handing out "dreams" in the form of cards that have some of the most whimsical, beautiful art I have ever seen in a game. If you have ever played DiXit it is very much like that. The other players are "investigators" trying to use these dreams to identify a person, place, and item that will eventually lead them to identifying the person responsible for the ghosts death. It is an utterly unique experience, unlike any other game I have ever played. And the game plays drastically different depending on whether you are the ghost or an investigator, both are equally fun though.
The production value and quality is fantastic, The cards are gorgeous and the big screen the ghost has to keep everything organized is well made and a huge asset exclusive to the English version of the game. This is quite possibly my favorite game of 2015 and one I highly recommend to both experienced gamers and those new to the hobby.
Game Play
Quality
Price
Value
Review by Alkalyn on 11/12/2015
Great deduction Game
The artwork of the game is fantastic as is the game play. One player plays the role of a ghost that communicates to the other players through dreams represented by picture cards. the player then have to deduce the murder. This game works a lot like Dixit and clue!
Game Play
Quality
Price
Value
Review by marcin on 11/5/2015
Interesting but not complicated
I got a chance to play a few games of mysterium the other night and really enjoyed it. We lost all three attempts but I still had a satisfying experience. The gameplay is so simple anybody can play. You just need one player who knows what they're doing to play the ghost. The players get abstract cards from the ghost they try to draw clues from to determine a suspect, location and murder weapon. As simple as it is it still is very gripping. It creates a great tension and is a unique gaming experience.
Game Play
Quality
Price
Value
Review by Daniel on 11/2/2015
I like it!
It's a fun light picture interpretation game. Like Dixit but more complex. It has a lot to do with what your "ghost" friend is trying to tell through "dreams" that can be absolutely nonsense if you are not paying attention as his/her "crime investigator" friends who are trying to figure out who killed that beloved friend. I think it's great for beginners and people who like guessing/interpret whimsical art and co-operation games.
Game Play
Quality
Price
Value
Review by Jasmin on 10/16/2015
Fun, interactive suspense!
Friends picked up a copy at Gen Con 2015 and we played it over a couple evenings. Absolutely fantastic fun. You are trying to solve a murder. One person plays the 'Ghost' and the other players are 'Psychics'. The Psychics work together to figure out the "visions" i.e., the cards given by the Ghost player to each of the Psychic players. The game is very much co-op, fostering a lot of table talk as you all try to figure out the connection between each player's visions and possible people, places and weapons. Although there is technically a winner, In the end, everyone is hoping to solve the murder, so if you can get it right, you still feel like you've won. There is a lot of suspense as you hope you've interpreted the cards correctly. Playing as the Ghost is a completely different and equally enjoyable experience as you try to manage the potential clues and figure out how to prompt the other players to guess correctly. The one challenge we had on two occasions is that the screen that hides the clues the Ghost player uses to keep track of the correct solutions has designated slots for each Psychic player based on each player's color. If the players don't sit at the table in the same order as the color sequence on the screen, it is easy to mix up the different player clues. This happened in two different games with different ghost players. It isn't a flaw though because there is an easy solution: make players sit in the color order that matches the Ghost player's screen. There is a lot of creativity and interaction between players which makes the game so much fun and replay value is certain. The cards are large and of high quality. The artwork is fantastic and the component pieces and layout of the game add to the theme which is always appreciated. The game is extremely accessible and fun for any age.
Game Play
Quality
Price
Value
Review by Ian on 10/3/2015
Awesome - played at GenCon, can't wait for our copy!
I am ordering this game for my team at work, to help them work as a team, think strategically, thinks abstractly, and to solve problems in new ways! This game demoed at GenCon 2015 and was a hit! I got to play the ghost and couldn't get a friend to pick the barber if our lives depended on it - which turned into an eruption of laughter! Great game with a wonderful teamwork component.
Game Play
Quality
Price
Value
Review by Jason on 9/23/2015