FFGMAD20

Mansions of Madness (2nd Edition)

Product #FFGMAD20

Regular Price: $99.95

Special Price: $84.99

Out of stock

Manufacturer: Fantasy Flight Games


The Door Is Open


The grimy alleys and looming mansions of Arkham harbor eldritch forces, terrifying secrets, and unspeakable monsters. Within these ancient buildings, gibbering madmen and cultists call upon the Ancient Ones, and beasts unknown by mortal scholars stir beneath the gibbous moon. Tonight, a few brave investigators venture behind Arkham's closed doors to make their stand against the madness within...

Mansions of Madness is a fully cooperative board game of horror and discovery for one to five players. Players take the part of investigators, entering the darkened rooms of haunted Arkham Mansions and other sinister locals to discover strange secrets, solve cunning puzzles, and battle otherworldly dangers. Mansions of Madness also includes a bonus conversion kit that allows fans of the first edition to use their investigators, monsters, and map tiles in this new edition.

A free digital app is required to play your copy of Mansions of Madness (2nd Edition).


Contents:
2 Rulebooks
24 Map Tlles
8 Investigator Cards and Plastic Figures
40 Common Item Cards
24 Unique Items Cards
30 Spell Cards
37 Condition Cards
40 Damage Cards
40 Horror Cards
24 Monster Tokens and Plastic Figures
16 Search/Interact Tokens
16 Explore/Sight Tokens
22 Person Tokens
4 Barricade Tokens
4 Secret Passage Tokens
18 Fire/Darkness Tokens
8 Wall Tokens
4 Door Tokens
26 Clue Tokens
6 ID Tokens
5 Dice
1 Conversion Kit
- 16 Investigator Cards
- 33 Monster Tokens
- 4 Person Tokens


Ages: 14+
Players: 1-5
Game Length: 120-180 minutes



Reviews

If you don't like this game, then you haven't played it yet.
Anyone who complains about the use of the companion app has obviously not even PLAYED this version of the game yet. You need to try something yourself before you can give an informed review.

The app really streamlines the whole experience, as you don't get bogged down by the minutiae of setting everything up and making changes to the board. The app gives clear instructions that almost anyone can follow. This really speeds things up so that players can focus on the story of the scenario instead of the logistics.

Some have complained that you don't get much bang for the buck. I completely disagree with that because a.) the quality of the game and the components more than justifies the price to me, b.) the scenarios have subtle variations, especially when you alter the number of players in the game, thus increasing the game's replay value, and c.) optional expansions can introduce new characters for use with the core scenarios, also increasing the game's replay value.

My wife and I are not huge horror fans (to each their own). However, I borrowed this game from a friend to see if she and I would like it and because it is currently out of stock almost everywhere. We both LOVED it because it plays more like a mystery novel than a horror movie. And with the co-op mechanic, we aren't competing with each other, so my wife can enjoy it as much as I enjoy a great 4-X strategy game.

I am planning on buying this as soon as it's back in stock and gifting it to my wife. I know that she wants to own it, too.
Game Play
Quality
Price
Value
Review by Wh0IsTh3D0ct0r on 5/9/2017
Excellent game.
Great improvement over the 1st edition. Love the app. Spent countless hours with friends and family playing it.
Game Play
Quality
Price
Value
Review by Alex on 3/18/2017
Great Game and Experience!
I did not know much about Mansions of Madness when I dove in head first. I purchased the main set as well as the 3 expansions together. I will break the game down like this:

Gameplay: All I can say is it was an amazing experience! Nobody wanted to stop playing! We actually played till 2:30am on a Saturday night because of the game! We had no issues with the app and the game was a blast! You feel immersed into the game from the start. The theme is extremely strong, which I believe the app helps bring that out. Just a "wow" experience!
Difficulty: The game is not difficult to learn and play. I would say some other "Ameritrash" games are slightly harder to learn. So if you like a game that really makes you think this might not be for you. However, I do can not see people not having fun!
Quality: The game tiles are exceptional. The monsters and players pawns are not the best. I had 2 player bent fairly bad. Several monsters had to have superglue to hold them together. Getting the chit inserts into the bases were not easy. Some still are not lined up. I can honestly say this is my biggest disappointment with the game!!
Price: You pay up for the plastic and I am sure some of it is for the app. If the pieces were not such a mess, I could see the price. However, with the issues I had I am a little disappointed in the value.

Overall, I am happy to own it. I love playing it! I hope we don't burn it out with only 9 adventures on the app, (1 you pay for $5.99). it will see a fair share of table time.
Game Play
Quality
Price
Value
Review by Mike on 2/15/2017
Great game
I have been thoroughly enjoying this game. I've had a lot of fun hanging out with friends, and having the game whoop up on us.
Game Play
Quality
Price
Value
Review by william on 1/28/2017
Great re-imagined game like non other!
Another amazing game by Fantasy Flight. It's not everyday that a company gets a chance to redesign a game they have already produced. They not only reprinted the game, but they fixed and re-imagined so many aspects of the original game. The app adds so much to the game it's ridiculous! I highly recommend.
Game Play
Quality
Price
Value
Review by CasperTheGamer on 1/23/2017
Great game, shame about the NECESSITY for an app to play.
I played the first edition and loved it; needing someone to be the Keeper was never an issue as I was always the GM in any roleplaying game we played and I enjoy the position, I actually like knowing the full story and watching it unfold as the players explore the setting. My main beef with the second edition is the fact that you CANNOT play the game without the app - maybe my group is excessively old school but although we all have plenty of tech at our disposal when we get together to game we don't want to have to rely on an app to play a boardgame. Otherwise this is standard Fantasy Flight stuff, which is to say excellent components and game elements. Overall though I prefer the first edition and that is solely due to the requirement of the app to play the second edition.
Game Play
Quality
Price
Value
Review by Bob on 12/30/2016
Love the game if it only had more scenerios
Very little replay value
Game Play
Quality
Price
Value
Review by Chris on 10/25/2016
For fan of Lovecraft games definitely worth checking out.
Lots of fun and enjoying it very much, The app makes it so much better than first edition. Smooth and immersive gameplay.
Game Play
Quality
Price
Value
Review by Mark on 10/23/2016
Great game but scenario additions and expansions will be required.
Instead of having piles of cards and a player telling you what it is happening you have an app. The app does a great job of streamlining and simplifying this process. This is also great news for groups that want to play pure co-operative games. The game boils down to following the instructions on the app and using the board for player markers and monsters. In some ways this does feel like it is almost an app game but the experience with your friends and family is excellent. The music and voice acting really help to set the mood.

All of the components are top notch. The miniatures have a good amount of detail. My only complaint is that 3 of the minis kept popping out of their base buy a little glue solved that problem. The insert is the Fantasy Flight valley and once expansions are purchased storage will become an issue.

With the app leading the game you only have a few scenarios. This will definitely be a game where you will need expansions and to purchase more of the scenario packs as they become available. There is a good amount of variation in the same mission within the app but I do see it getting stale after running the same one with the same group after 5 or 6 times.

I recommend this game if you and your group love thematic experiences and game play. The rules are light and straight forward. After 5 minutes anyone should be good to go.

Great game but scenario additions and expansions will be required.
Game Play
Quality
Price
Value
Review by Daniel on 10/15/2016
Not worth it.
Overpriced, app game.
Game Play
Quality
Price
Value
Review by MAGA on 10/14/2016
A must have if you love thematic games!
Beautiful game with tons of fun and horror!
Game Play
Quality
Price
Value
Review by Nathan on 9/27/2016
A huge improvement over the first edition! A must buy!
I highly recommend this game to any Lovecraft fan who enjoys board games. It plays well, has very nice components, and captures the spooky, shadowy world of HPL very well.

I owned the 1st edition and never played it- it was just too much trouble to find someone wanting to be "The Keeper" ( Dungeon Master). I ended up selling the game. When this 2nd edition came out, I instantly grabbed it, knowing that having an app be The Keeper made this game a, uh, keeper.
I rarely get a game these days that actually excites me, but this one actually got me fired up enough to not only paint all the miniatures, but also do some base alterations to suit my own tastes.
It took a few days before I actually played the game (finished painting the figures, reading the rules, watching videos on YouTube), but when I did, I was very thrilled with the game play.
My only complaint (and purely a personal viewpoint) is that the game seems to try to rush you through the house more than I like. I actually enjoy exploring the mansion but the game wants you to hustle through the place to save the world, therefore it has a built in "timer" to be sure you don't poke around too leisurely. I am aware that is the nature of these co-ops, but I would still like at least one scenario where the emphasis is less on speed and more on exploration.
Overall, despite the somewhat exorbitant price tag, it is a game worthy of a spot on your shelf.
Game Play
Quality
Price
Value
Review by Steve on 8/18/2016