Betrayal at House on the Hill (2nd Edition)

Betrayal at House on the Hill (2nd Edition)

Product #AVH26633

Game Play
Quality
Price
Value
Add a Review

Regular Price: $50.00

Special Price: $35.50

Out of stock

Reviews

great and not great
so the game is great, easy to learn and play. but once the betrayer is found. you have to stop, go into 2 groups and read a page or 2 for the next stage of the game. i like it, others around me dont. it breaks up the game, some of them are a bit confusing or dumb. just takes time away and sometimes the fun.
Game Play
Quality
Price
Value
Review by Adam on 3/22/2019
Good game, but broken
This game has a very intriguing concept, but the execution is flawed. Components aren't the best and the various scenarios aren't even close to balanced once the haunt happens. I love the idea of the game though, and if you can look past these things and get into the theme you'll probably get a huge kick out of it.
Game Play
Quality
Price
Value
Review by Phil on 3/20/2019
Very pleased
Love that there are so many different endings to the game! It's never the same. After reading the directions and rereading, we attempted. It was more of a play and read as you go but after mastering it, it's one of the top favorites by everyone. Never the same game play and can last anywhere from 20 minutes to over an hour. Just depends how the game unfolds.
Game Play
Quality
Price
Value
Review by bubblerider on 11/15/2017
I highly recommend this game for an evening of fun.
What a blast! Five of us played and we had a super time. The only problem I found was they sent double of one of the miniatures (two little girls), but that didn't slow down the fun.
Game Play
Quality
Price
Value
Review by Foyster on 4/25/2017
Our Favorite!
This is a fantastic game! The house is always different and you never know who the betrayer will be and what they are about to do. Tons of replay ability. Some luck involved but here is also some strategy as well. You might have to use some house rules as the rulebook doesn't explain everything well. This is our go-to game when we have 3 or more players.
Game Play
Quality
Price
Value
Review by Christopher on 12/1/2016
Beautiful Terror
This is one of my favorite games. I Bought the base game in 2005 and have played through all of the haunts a few times (and wore down the boards and bits in the process). The new version is somewhat cheaper in quality and durability but the game is fun enough to compensate (and Wizards Coast has a history of replacing faulty pieces).

I will say that the game relies a lot on luck due to die rolling, card drawing, but even so, the story-rich environment pushes that to the side. I have rarely played a game that does as good of a job as pulling you in and losing you in the theme as this one. The upcoming expansion will only add to the excitement and replayability.
Game Play
Quality
Price
Value
Review by Keva B on 8/15/2016
love love love this game
This is one of the best games I have ever played!! the replayability is limitless. Its a today's take on the classic clue/mystery mansion. The items are high quality and you cant beat the price. I would recommend this to anyone who love variation each and every play through.
Game Play
Quality
Price
Value
Review by Anthony on 6/28/2016
Infinite Replayability in a tense horror-themed game
Betrayal at House on the Hill is exactly what it sounds and looks like. You're playing a horror-based tile-laying game with a traitor mechanic. Before you balk at that consider the following:

1. Everyone's on the same page until The Haunt occurs, at which point everyone finds out who the traitor is.

2. The traitor has specific tasks they try to fulfill, and they act in full view of everyone, rather than in secret. This makes strategy among the other players wonderful to see during gameplay.

3. The overall tone of this game in undeniable. You get immersed into this old plot device, the haunted old house, and it sucks you in. You could play a soundtrack of spooky music to add to the ambiance.

4. Playing with people you know and trust only add to the fun, even if one of the people you trust the most becomes the traitor. Because then, you can trust them to take you out if there's any way they can.

5. There is a TRAITOR'S HANDBOOK with a few dozen scenarios on how The Haunt occurs and what the Traitor's tasks are. This allows the game to vary greatly based on whose turn it is when The Haunt occurs, what Omen they've triggered it with, etc.

The components that come with the game are somewhat lacking, specifically talking about the pointers that are supposed to help you keep track of your Might, Sanity, etc. They don't stay on the cardboard at all, so we ended up using dice to keep a tally on our stats.

The house is built differently every single time, and if you're wondering how you can have infinite amounts of fun playing this game over and over again, wonder no more. Buy this game.
Game Play
Quality
Price
Value
Review by Zach on 2/8/2016
This game rocks!!!
My wife and i have played this with friends for months now and finally decided to buy it for us. Very fun game and would recommend to anyone.
Game Play
Quality
Price
Value
Review by adam on 1/18/2016
This game will leave you on the edge of your seat.
This game has soooo many options for replay value it will give you a new gaming experience for years to come. It has a great theme and quality components. The price tag can be considered a little steep, but MM has a great price on the game and considering how many different gaming experiences you will get out of it, it is worth the money.
Game Play
Quality
Price
Value
Review by Richard on 11/7/2015

Write Your Own Review

( You're reviewing Betrayal at House on the Hill (2nd Edition) )

How do you rate this product? *

  1 2 3 4 5
Game Play
Quality
Price
Value