FFGMAD20

Mansions of Madness (2nd Edition)

Product #FFGMAD20

Game Play
Quality
Price
Value
Add a Review

Regular Price: $99.95

Special Price: $89.95

Out of stock

Reviews

great
Set up is a breeze! download the app, boom instructions STEP BY STEP all the way! You can't go wrong,
We haven't made it to the other difficulty levels yet on the app. (3 players- easy mode) We've played twice already, first time we didn't succeed. The second time we won. We wanted to make sure we got a good feel of the first difficulty before moving on and a good understanding of the game.
With playing it twice on the same difficulty the game board lay out was different each time, new monsters appeared and different things did happen.
Def will get your usage out of this game with the different options of playing.
Game Play
Quality
Price
Value
Review by bubblerider on 11/25/2017
Masterpiece
I also own the first edition, which rarely made it to the table. The set up was cumbersome and the game had to be planned in advance (no spur of the moment, “Hey, let’s play Mansions.”) Don’t misunderstand, we enjoyed the game once it was set up, and we were sad not to play it more often.

Enter Mansions of Madness 2nd edition. The set up is now a matter of moments. The app streamlines the games, and adds to the atmosphere and immersion in the game world. Game play is smooth as silk. Puzzles feel more authentic. The game gets out of its own way and lets the gameplay shine. The app even allows repeats of the same scenario to be different, so that you can play them again wothout knowing everything! Brilliant!
This game is a masterpiece.
Game Play
Quality
Price
Value
Review by Starla on 11/19/2017
Good game.
Game is great, but replay-ability is really low. Scenarios have some changes in the map and in the main events, but you will still need to do the same things to be successful. Great game on the first play for each scenario; it is ok when you already know what to do; definitely boring when you know all the possible events in a scenario and you reach this point with 2/3 plays for scenario.
Game Play
Quality
Price
Value
Review by Stefano on 11/14/2017
If you don't like this game, then you haven't played it yet.
Anyone who complains about the use of the companion app has obviously not even PLAYED this version of the game yet. You need to try something yourself before you can give an informed review.

The app really streamlines the whole experience, as you don't get bogged down by the minutiae of setting everything up and making changes to the board. The app gives clear instructions that almost anyone can follow. This really speeds things up so that players can focus on the story of the scenario instead of the logistics.

Some have complained that you don't get much bang for the buck. I completely disagree with that because a.) the quality of the game and the components more than justifies the price to me, b.) the scenarios have subtle variations, especially when you alter the number of players in the game, thus increasing the game's replay value, and c.) optional expansions can introduce new characters for use with the core scenarios, also increasing the game's replay value.

My wife and I are not huge horror fans (to each their own). However, I borrowed this game from a friend to see if she and I would like it and because it is currently out of stock almost everywhere. We both LOVED it because it plays more like a mystery novel than a horror movie. And with the co-op mechanic, we aren't competing with each other, so my wife can enjoy it as much as I enjoy a great 4-X strategy game.

I am planning on buying this as soon as it's back in stock and gifting it to my wife. I know that she wants to own it, too.
Game Play
Quality
Price
Value
Review by Wh0IsTh3D0ct0r on 5/9/2017
Excellent game.
Great improvement over the 1st edition. Love the app. Spent countless hours with friends and family playing it.
Game Play
Quality
Price
Value
Review by Alex on 3/18/2017
Great Game and Experience!
I did not know much about Mansions of Madness when I dove in head first. I purchased the main set as well as the 3 expansions together. I will break the game down like this:

Gameplay: All I can say is it was an amazing experience! Nobody wanted to stop playing! We actually played till 2:30am on a Saturday night because of the game! We had no issues with the app and the game was a blast! You feel immersed into the game from the start. The theme is extremely strong, which I believe the app helps bring that out. Just a "wow" experience!
Difficulty: The game is not difficult to learn and play. I would say some other "Ameritrash" games are slightly harder to learn. So if you like a game that really makes you think this might not be for you. However, I do can not see people not having fun!
Quality: The game tiles are exceptional. The monsters and players pawns are not the best. I had 2 player bent fairly bad. Several monsters had to have superglue to hold them together. Getting the chit inserts into the bases were not easy. Some still are not lined up. I can honestly say this is my biggest disappointment with the game!!
Price: You pay up for the plastic and I am sure some of it is for the app. If the pieces were not such a mess, I could see the price. However, with the issues I had I am a little disappointed in the value.

Overall, I am happy to own it. I love playing it! I hope we don't burn it out with only 9 adventures on the app, (1 you pay for $5.99). it will see a fair share of table time.
Game Play
Quality
Price
Value
Review by Mike on 2/15/2017
Great game
I have been thoroughly enjoying this game. I've had a lot of fun hanging out with friends, and having the game whoop up on us.
Game Play
Quality
Price
Value
Review by william on 1/28/2017
Great re-imagined game like non other!
Another amazing game by Fantasy Flight. It's not everyday that a company gets a chance to redesign a game they have already produced. They not only reprinted the game, but they fixed and re-imagined so many aspects of the original game. The app adds so much to the game it's ridiculous! I highly recommend.
Game Play
Quality
Price
Value
Review by CasperTheGamer on 1/23/2017
Great game, shame about the NECESSITY for an app to play.
I played the first edition and loved it; needing someone to be the Keeper was never an issue as I was always the GM in any roleplaying game we played and I enjoy the position, I actually like knowing the full story and watching it unfold as the players explore the setting. My main beef with the second edition is the fact that you CANNOT play the game without the app - maybe my group is excessively old school but although we all have plenty of tech at our disposal when we get together to game we don't want to have to rely on an app to play a boardgame. Otherwise this is standard Fantasy Flight stuff, which is to say excellent components and game elements. Overall though I prefer the first edition and that is solely due to the requirement of the app to play the second edition.
Game Play
Quality
Price
Value
Review by Bob on 12/30/2016
Love the game if it only had more scenerios
Very little replay value
Game Play
Quality
Price
Value
Review by Chris on 10/25/2016

Write Your Own Review

( You're reviewing Mansions of Madness (2nd Edition) )

How do you rate this product? *

  1 2 3 4 5
Game Play
Quality
Price
Value