Legend of the Five Rings LCG: Core Set

Legend of the Five Rings LCG: Core Set (On Sale)

Product #FFGL5C01

Game Play
Quality
Price
Value
Add a Review

Regular Price: $39.95

Special Price: $28.00

18 In stock
  • Add to Cart
  •  

Reviews

First time a card game pulled me in
Life long-player of games. I've dabbled in all sorts of competitive card games over the years, this is the first one to pull me in and get me interested in serious competitive play. That was on release and the game has only gotten better and better since than. One of my all-time favorite games.
This box itself is a starter set that you'll need three copies of if you are serious about getting into the game. That was a much harder bargain when this first hit retail but at the current price it's a no-brainer.
Game Play
Quality
Price
Value
Review by Wusashicat on 10/9/2020
Gorgeus game and a look into casual play
I'm bias since I loved the game from the get go. I will speak as a new player to the LCG format and who intends to stay a casual player. Gameplay mechanichs and quality of design/art are captivating and outstanding. People who love to be surrounded by choices, strategy and planning will adore it. Unfortunately, you will need to buy 3 of the core sets to be fully immersed in the game, I'd say 1 core set would give you a mild learning experience to the ones curious enough, some of the clans work better than others with only one copy of each card + the filler neutral cards available IMO, hence the eventual necessity to have 3 core sets. Fortunately, you will have a lot to uncover and experiment around the diversity of the 7 clans from the base game, rendering a great amount of play time and replayability if you happen to have a partner who also enjoys casual play. As I discovered from most FFG LCG, you can never get tired of it with expansions blooming throughout the year, deckbuilding will add even more to this experience. As a casual player you may choose to either buy them right away or take your time, as will be my choice.
Game Play
Quality
Price
Value
Review by Daniel on 4/30/2018
Beautiful and deeply strategic and immersive game.
I'm in love with this game. From the art to the lore and the actual gameplay, it's 5 stars to me for sure. Legend of the Five Rings immerses you in a mysthical and deeply atmospheric adventure, while at the same time being a challenging strategic and tactical game, with multiple variables that have to be considered and dynamically re-adapted in your plans and asymmetric player factions. The quality of the box is outstanding. Now, yes, you'll need three core boxes if you want all the options for all the clans. But that's how LCGs go, really, and still way better than CCGs. Also, you could share the boxes with friends, if you only really want to focus on a single or on some clans.
Game Play
Quality
Price
Value
Review by Peter on 12/23/2017
Great collectable card game, not a single box board game, though.
An excellent card game with many interesting decisions to make and one in which making good decisions will, indeed, greatly increase your odds of winning.

If you have more than one core set, anyway. With two cores, you have interesting decisions to make while playing. A few Dynasty packs extends that into deck building as well and a third core adds consistency.

If you're looking for a good collectable card game, this is a fine choice. If want a single box board game, this doesn't work quite as well for that.
Game Play
Quality
Price
Value
Review by Mr L on 12/18/2017
Just do it!!!
This is a great game!!!! Coming from a miniature/tcg gaming background this is my first lcg. I love the gameplay!!! It is amazing how well balanced it is! The back and forth feeding off of each other makes it suspenseful and keeps your attention but it is also super relaxing and peaceful! I love turning on Japanese culture type of music and playing! My only complaint is having to buy more than one core set to have play set but at the same time they are cheap compared to having to buy booster boxes or singles!!! Overall 9/10!!!!!
Game Play
Quality
Price
Value
Review by ryan on 10/21/2017
1 core set isnt enough. cheap enough to get another though
The components are of good quality. The art is amazing. The rules are a little different than the old l5r. At my local game store most people have at least 3 core sets for competitive use. I have found that you need at least 3 to be competitive. 1 is not enough. The game play is good,your choices DO matter as 1 or 2 mistakes can be costly vs experienced players. Very fun game.
Game Play
Quality
Price
Value
Review by general xaergost on 10/16/2017
Great LCG at its starting point
Good engaging gameplay with multiple meaningful decision points. A single mistake can be a reason for a loss. Beginner games take long, but it should speed up with experience. The game may be hard to teach to a person who lacks card game experience. Art is fantastic. Quality is typical of FFG.
The core set features 7 factions, thus it is a little bit thin but very wide. Two cores are said to be minimum "good" experience, three are required for competitive play. Core set meta lacks in term of deckbuilding choices. This may change with 6 Dynasty Packs coming out in November - December.
Game Play
Quality
Price
Value
Review by Niner on 10/12/2017
Long time L5R fan!
I grew up playing ccgs like MTG and L5R. The main issue I had with L5R ccg was the snowball effect, and this game does an amazing job of fixing that issue. I hear people complaining about value of the core box and the fact that you need 3 cores to play competitivly, but at just over $30 per core, it is amazing value. For $90, you get 3 of every clan card and multiple neutral cards for other decks. For competitive games, this is still on the cheap end for price of entry.

The art and theme are both amazing in this game, and you know it will continue with FFG's amazing production. The games can run a bit long (45-120 minutes), but I have never been bored during my games. I cannot recommend this game enough, one of the best of the year!
Game Play
Quality
Price
Value
Review by Chris on 10/11/2017
Good place to start getting into Card Games
So, I used to play CCG's. I played for many, many years and what turned me off about them was, if you spend more, you win more. That is mostly eliminated in the LCG arena (or at least more managed). This game does a very good job of portraying the world of L5R and manages to capture the feel and ascetic of a very robust storytellers world.

The quality of the game is what you would expect form an industry leader like FFG, and the "core set" provides a good place for people to start getting into Card Games, or in my case, back into them. If you really want to be competitive in organized play, you need two or three copies of this set to really compete, although you CAN win with just the core and a bit of luck.

If you really want to compete thought, get two or three sets (or you and a friend could maybe split 5 total sets), and keep up on the expansions. Its cheaper than CCG's like Magic, and a far more interesting world.
Game Play
Quality
Price
Value
Review by StudioTembo on 10/10/2017
This should have been labeled a STARTER set
The game play is solid. The way that cards work is simple and direct. It would have been nice if the Honor mechanic mattered and could have been implemented prior to new cards coming out so players could get used to it. The card and token quality is good. the art is still very pretty. The amount of items you get for $40 is really good. However the value is extremely poor. You need 3 core sets to play the game properly. In addition not all clans get the same number of cards making unbalanced for a core set, but better for a starter. If you have people who bought 3 core sets they will win consistantly unless you also bought 3. So while the game is good. Buy 3, wait to buy 3, or find a new game.
Game Play
Quality
Price
Value
Review by Sean on 10/8/2017

Write Your Own Review

( You're reviewing Legend of the Five Rings LCG: Core Set (On Sale) )

How do you rate this product? *

  1 2 3 4 5
Game Play
Quality
Price
Value