Coup

Coup

Product #IBCGP-B0813

Game Play
Quality
Price
Value
Add a Review

Regular Price: $14.99

Special Price: $10.99

14 In stock
  • Add to Cart
  •  

Reviews

Great, quick, game for veterans and newcomers
Coup is a quick card game that is easy to pick up. The rules are very short and can be learned or taught within one turn of the game. Since, it is all about deception, a lot of the game play comes with how inventive you can be when making a move and your ability to bluff. A fun trick is trying to convince people you are bluffing when you are actually being honest. This is a great travel or drinking game that can easily go where you go.
Game Play
Quality
Price
Value
Review by Perpetual Beginner on 12/6/2019
Great Warm-up Game
Coup is good for both fitting in a quick game when pressed for time or before getting into a long night of gaming. It's an easy to teach game that a lot of people can play at once.
Game Play
Quality
Price
Value
Review by Decaf on 6/19/2018
Lots of fun!
Great game! We have 3 players that play mostly but have played up to 4 players. Love the bluffing.
You can call someone out, if your wrong one of your characters dies, if you're right one of their characters dies. You can be the assassin and kill off other players but if they have the counter card you could end up dead instead. -Or are they bluffing? Are you bluffing about having the assassin?
Def. advise getting the expansion pack for added characters.
Game Play
Quality
Price
Value
Review by bubblerider on 11/25/2017
A Refreshing Change from "The Resistance"!
This game is definitely recommended if you've played "The Resistance". A Classic, mindless-fun bluffing game that has limited choices, but deep strategy in it. It is considered a refreshing change from "The Resistance", and allows for plenty of more bluffing as without "Reformation" this has NO teams, and your main goal is to eliminate everyone else to be the sole survivor. Gameplay won't take you longer than 5-10 minutes once you've learned it quite well.

Heavily recommended!
p.s. Also worth noting that it's a must-have if purchased from MM as the special price here makes this game a no-brainer! Look no further if you feel that "The Resistance" has started to grow stale even with its expansions!
Game Play
Quality
Price
Value
Review by Ryan on 7/10/2016
Must Have
Great Game. it's easy to learn and fast to play. Best for 4+ players
Game Play
Quality
Price
Value
Review by juan on 5/27/2016
If you get this also get the expansion
Great card quality this game of deceit and back stabbed is so much fun. For those who love to make people on edge guessing who and what you are this is the game for you.
Game Play
Quality
Price
Value
Review by Austin on 2/14/2016
One of my favorite bluffing games
A great game for people who like bluffing. Simple mechanics and intrigue make this game great for people wanting a good filler. Games are short so often several are played in a row.
Game Play
Quality
Price
Value
Review by Dagon on 12/15/2015
Great Bluff game
Coup is a great bluff game. It gets better when played with more people, with the expansion it can go up to 10 players.
It´s is a quick game that you will want to play a lot of time in a row.
Everyone that I introduced this game wanted to by a copy later.
Game Play
Quality
Price
Value
Review by Leonardo Frossard on 10/19/2015
Not Good For 2
I must preface my review with I have only played Coup with my daughter (8) head to head. I have yet to play it with more players or even another adult, which may change my opinion.

The game looks really nice and the character powers are interesting and varied, with the exception of the ambassador who's only power is to draw 2 more cards and discard him (effectively losing a turn doing so in the hope of drawing a useful character).

In the two player variant, being able to chose a character is interesting and offers the only real skill in the game. Getting your second card at random will likely decide the winner, as the mix of cards effectively determines who will perform their first 'coup' or assassination.. You can still bluff, so there is some skill/strategy, but games are usually over in 2-3 minutes and determined by the cards you have.

My daughter loves the game even 2-player, but for me there just isn't anything to warrant getting it out of the box even as a time filler. If I haven't got time to play King of Tokyo then I probably don't have a long enough span of time to 'need' to fill, I'd rather ask everyone how their day has been.
Game Play
Quality
Price
Value
Review by Pendarric on 10/17/2015
A Good Game While Waiting to Start a Better Game
This game is quick, and that's a good thing, because when it's long...it's not that enjoyable anymore.

But really, there are very few games that provide a good bit of thrill in just 10-15 minutes. For me more than 2 games in a row becomes a bit dull, so I call this a "filler" in the truest sense of the word: good for filling time until that sixth player shows up for something a little more complex.

I've met people happy to play 6 times in a row though...
Game Play
Quality
Price
Value
Review by Frank on 10/15/2015

Write Your Own Review

( You're reviewing Coup )

How do you rate this product? *

  1 2 3 4 5
Game Play
Quality
Price
Value